Does Breakfast Leave You Hungry, Too? Chia is the Answer.

 

Breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

But when you subtract the idols on the breakfast table including eggs, milk, sugary orange juice and milk with processed cereals. You was the heck do ya eat?

As my time being a vegan progressed, the beauty of breakfast hit me. I loved smoothies especially, and porridge with delicious toppings. In fact, most days I would simply have a smoothie for breakfast which satiated me until lunch. However now, I’m still left so damn hungry. I found that a lot of vegan breakfast lacked substance. Something solid to fill you up. Which leads me to the chia trend.

Chia is full of protein, which makes it great for breakfast. I feel we should fit protein into every meal, and especially as vegans, add as much as possible!

Chia puddings and parfaits are an extremely popular breakfast choice for us vegans, and at first, I couldn’t understand the craze. I’d make a pudding, and in the morning find a liquidy, lose pudding that looked like nothing I’d seen on Instagram, although I’d followed the exact recipes by my favourite bloggers. I sighed with defeat as I watched my toppings sink into the pond of chia pudding that sat in front of me. What was the big deal?

So I did a bit of research, and went for a breakfast when I visited London for the day with my boyfriend. I had chia pudding with a matcha latte. I was stuffed! I actually couldn’t eat again until dinner! The chia pudding was so THICK, it was a revelation! I was so used to thin chia puddings which felt more like smoothies I was spooning rather than drinking… which always left me feeling empty. Yet this chia pudding was almost like porridge. Thick and wholesome. A damn good brekkie and the answer to my question. There was a secret to a good chia pudding, and that secret was THICKNESS. So, how do you do it?

chia 5

I took to the internet. Many vegan bloggers simply made the chia pudding with coconut milk, adding 3 tablespoons of chia seeds to 200ml coconut milk to create a thicker pudding. Deliciously Ella, although her recipes usually left me with thin chia puds, added coconut oil to her Maple Chia Pots in her second book. I found this did thicken the mix. However one specific Instagram blogger Peachonomics, informed me that she adds yoghurt to her chia parfaits. I felt this was the key. As my chia pudding from London had a high level of creaminess that an ingredient such as yoghurt would deliver. So I decided to modify it to my own preference.

My favourite vegan yoghurt is COYO. It’s a vegan yoghurt made from coconuts, and contains only three ingredients; coconut milk, tapocia starch, and live vegan yoghurt cultures. Three beautiful, natural ingredients. I use it as much as possible, although the price-tag makes it more of a luxury item for me; a treat. You can buy it from Sainsbury’s, Waitrose, and most healthfood stores.

I began testing chia puddings, and found the ULTIMATE base recipe for a chia pudding that is GUARANTEED to leave you full. From this, I built flavours and combos which gave a whole new spin on the classic chia pudding. I will share many combos with you on my blog, so I better start. Now everyone loves chocolate, and cocoa has mood lifting properties so what more can I say to convince you to try this pud for brekkie?

COCONUT CACAO CHIA PUDDING

chia 2

This is an indulgent treat to start you off to such a positive day! And as I say, leave you feelin’ full. It’s also dead easy to throw together, which means on a busy morning you can still enjoy a delicious breakfast that you simply need to take out of the fridge and decorate with you favourite toppings.

[photo]


So here’s the formula:

200ml Almond Milk (I use Rude Health)

3 Tablespoons of Chia Seeds

1 Heaped Teaspoon of Cacao Powder

1 Tablespoon of Chocolate Flavoured COYO (the crucial secret ingredient!)

Optional Toppings:

Fruit Compote (I used my Ginger Pear and Raspberry compote)

Granola

Nut Butter

Fruit


Method

Simply add the milk to a jar, followed by the chia seeds and the cacao powder. Stir this well until combined.

After this, add the yoghurt and stir until it’s melted into the pudding mix. Then place this bad boy into the fridge and leave over night. Return once after maybe an hour and give it a stir or shake to make sure none of the seeds have separated.

In the morning, either eat it out of the jar or spoon it into a bowl; but don’t forget to dress it with your fave toppings and snap a pic for the ‘gram…

Enjoy!

-B

 

This post is shared at Plant-Based Potluck Party Link Up

2 thoughts on “Does Breakfast Leave You Hungry, Too? Chia is the Answer.

  1. Hi Bria, Yes, I have noticed that certain kinds for breakfast foods do leave me hungry. I used to eat fresh fruit and green tea for breakfast and I would find myself craving more food quite soon. I have starting making chia seed puddings and adding chia seeds to my smoothies. Thank you for sharing Does Breakfast Leave You Hungry, Too? Chia is the Answer. with us at the Plant-based Potluck Party. I’m pinning and sharing this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

