Salted Caramel Coconut Chia Pudding

One long ol’ title for one hell of a breakfast. This is my all time favourite chia flavour yet.

I’m sticking to a chia theme with my posts right now as I’ve literally only just discovered the ‘filling’ benefits of having them for breakfast. This has allowed me to explore combinations and flavourings to find the best chia pudding recipes. And, to be frank, this one takes the biscuit to be honest…

Salted C 2

So I see a lot of salted caramel recipes for desserts and sweet treats, quite rightly so. It clear why, too. The sweet caramel flavour is enhanced with the sharp edge of the salt, creating an indulgent flavour that is simply irresistible. I simply had to create an alternative dish which utilises these amazing flavours which isn’t considered a treat. In fact, I knew I wanted to incorporate these flavours into a meal that sets you up and serves a purpose for fuelling you for the day. What better than breakfast?

As I mention in my previous blog post; I love COYO yoghurt. It creates the perfect thickness to chia puddings when added to the mix. COYO sell a salted caramel flavour which is absolutely essential to this recipe!

Also essential to this recipe is hazelnut milk. A new kid on the block in terms of nut milk… Hazelnut milk has such a caramel-esque flavour which is super rich and indulgent. It enhances the caramel flavouring so much in this dish! There are many brands selling hazelnut milk now, but I opt for Rude Health.

In terms of toppings, I included my Ginger Pear and Raspberry Compote which really brought a great sharp and sweet counter flavouring to the mellow tones from the salted caramel. I also sprinkled the top with crushed hazelnuts which really coupled well with the hazelnut milk. The rich cacao nibs also complimented the flavours well, as we’re so used to salted caramel chocolate bars. Both of these toppings added a great crunch which really enhances the dish!

I also added chopped strawberry, banana and the traditional drizzle of peanut butter for a breakfast like no other.

Salted C 3


Ingredients:

4 Tablespoons of Chia Seeds

125 ml of Hazelnut Milk (I use Rude Health)

1 heaped Tablespoon of Salted Caramel COYO

One Small Pinch of Pink Himylayan Salt

One Small Pinch of Vanilla Powder

Optional Toppings:

Banana

Granola

Compote

Cacao Nibs


Method:

Pour the milk into a jar. Add the chia seeds and stir until well combined. After this, add the COYO. Stir until all of the yoghurt has dissolved into the mix evenly. Finally add the pinch of salt and vanilla and stir well. Seal the jar and store overnight.

In the morning, add your favourite toppings and savour the flavours!

 

This post is shared at Plant-Based Potluck Party Link Up

4 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Coconut Chia Pudding

  1. I am a big fan of chia pudding so I can’t wait to make this. I love trying new chia pudding combinations. Your blend of ingredients sound so mouthwatering! Thank you so much for sharing this healthy and delicious Salted Caramel Coconut Chia Pudding recipe with us at the Plant-based Potluck Party. I’m pinning and sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

