Coconut Yoghurt 3 Ways: Spiced Vanilla, Maple Cacao and Natural

So recently I have become addicted to vegan coconut yoghurt. There’s tonnes of brands on the market including Coconut Collaborative and Coyo who sell HEAVENLY yoghurt that is too good to believe it’s made only from coconuts. I started reading the ingredients and realised that there really wasn’t much too it at all…


I exhausted all the flavours as my addiction swept my mind and body to supermarkets and health food shops, clearing the shelves out as I gobbled up variation after variation, when my obsession grew stronger. I needed more. I was like the HULK of the coconuts; I burst out from my t-shirt, muscles flaring up and eyes bloodshot as I announced the second coming of coconut yoghurt: My coconut yoghurt.


One necessity for me was that this yoghurt must be super THICK. I love the texture with my granola and chia pudding, it feels substantial and satisfying this way. So I assure you, these yoghurt are thick thick thick. If you like thinner yoghurt, just add more coconut water until you find your desired consistency.

So I began to research, I wanted to do it differently. I didn’t want to be the copycat who replicates what the shop already sells: my recipe had to be original. The original G, if you will.


I was browsing Ocado in my free time as any foodie freak does, and came across frozen young coconut meat which interested me: I ordered a pack and stuck it in the blender. The coconut meat tasted kinda weird, and I knew that if I wanted to make a delicious coco yog, I needed to add creaminess.

Most companies used coconut milk as their base ingredient, and that sparked me to try and add a little of the solid creamy coconut milk to my coconut meat base to deliver the creaminess. It worked a charm.

Then the flavours just hit me. I am a huge lover of traditional plain yoghurt to add to my granola and chia puds, so I knew I had to make a natural batch. However the flavour of vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon are all HUGE in my books; so I combined them all together to create the flavour from the heavens. It’s quite wintery, and I can imagine serving it alongside banana bread or over winter crumble when Christmas comes around. Finally I needed something a little indulgent: chocolate is the obvious answer. I gave my cacao yoghurt a twist by adding the sweet notes of maple syrup: and MAN it’s so delicious.

I’m banging out these recipes on the keyboard right now because I am so unbelievably excited to share them with you, it really is so so simple to make these beauties.


VEGAN COCONUT YOGHURT: 3 WAYS

Natural Ingredients:

200g coconut meat (I used frozen, which I let thaw).

2 heaped tablespoons of coconut milk (I took it from the solid milk from the can)

1/2 cup of coconut water

Spiced Vanilla Ingredients:

200g coconut meat (I used frozen, which I let thaw).

2 heaped tablespoons of coconut milk (I took it from the solid milk from the can)

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1 heaped teaspoon of vanilla powder

Cacao Maple Yoghurt Ingredients:

200g coconut meat (I used frozen, which I let thaw).

2 heaped tablespoons of coconut milk (I took it from the solid milk from the can)

1 heaped tablespoon of cacao powder

1-2 teaspoons of maple syrup


METHOD FOR ALL VARIATIONS

Simply place all of the ingredients in a blender, and blend at a high speed until all the lumps have broken down and you’re left with a smooth, thick yoghurt. You may need to scrape down the sides of the blender a few times, that meat goes mad when tackling the blender.

 

I truly am so excited about this recipe: I’ve realised how simple it actually is to create this delicious vegan yoghurt at home! Please try it and let me know!

Leave a Reply

