Vegan Mediterranean Courgetti and Tempeh Salad: and why I’m bringing back the eggs

This low carb dinner was just what I craved: protein filled, flavourful and hearty ✌🏼 the best part is that I threw everything together with stuff I had lying around in the kitchen: easy peasy…

On the other hand, I’ve done a bit of soul searching and I’ve decided I’m bringing back EGGS. I’m sick and tired of being hungry all the time: I love vegan food, but golly I’m always so dayum HUNGRY! I’m therefore always eating, and snacking: it never ended. Until now.

I have been a happy vegan: feeling satisfied after meals. But over the last six months I have been on a rollercoaster of peaks and troughs of hunger. I need protein, and body and density that’ll actually fill me up and keep me full for a while after. So I had a long, hard think about it and I have no problem eating eggs. They’re extremely healthy, and as long as they’re free range: then they can be enjoyed in a balanced diet. So I’ve started to include them back into my diet. I’ve only started with one a day, but I’ll keep on building.


It also gives me the perfect opportunity to detox from the mass amount of carbs I’d been consuming: I’d eat so much of them it would make me feel unwell. I’m aiming to ditch the majority of sugar all together, but it’s gunna take a long time to get to that point without crashing. So I’ve started by having a break from grains, bread and flour. 
This is where my recipe comes from, and it was truly a flavour sensation! The rich flavour from the sundried tomato and olive oil compliments the depth of the tamari-seasoned tempeh, all tossed on a thick bed of courgetti and red pepper, drizzled with balsamic vinegar. 


INGREDIENTS:

  • One courgette
  • One red pepper
  • 6-10 sundries tomatoes in a jar
  • Ten black pitted olives in a jar
  • 100g tempeh
  • Two tablespoons of tamari
  • Olive oil
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Oregano 
  • Ground black pepper 

METHOD

Start by heating a pan on a medium to high heat with a drizzle of olive oil. When it’s hot, add the tempeh (cut into cubes) and the tamari and mix well. Leave to cook for five minutes before tossing to cook the other sides. When browned and crispy, set aside.

Top and tail the courgette and make the courgetti by using a spiraliser or using a peeler to make long strips. Chop the red pepper up and toss with the courgetti. Place the jarred sundried tomatoes in a sieve and rinse with boiling water: chop them up with the olives and toss them with the tempeh into the salad. Drizzle the whole plate with balsamic vinegar, and dust with dried oregano and ground black pepper ✌🏼

Leave a Reply

